Archive for July 28, 2011

John Frieda Color Renew Shampoo & Conditioner

Black hair dye is the DEVIL. I had my hair dyed black for about 8 months… then 2 months ago I decided that I was over it. My hair is naturally dark blonde and I want it back! I’m so sick of messing with hair dye and throwing away money to stylists who need to have their license taken away. So I gradually started to lighten it by going to the salon and getting highlights every 8 weeks and then also using a mild bleach shampoo once every 1-2 weeks… which has worked out great, minus the fact my hair is SUPER brassy looking (there is really no avoiding this when lifting black hair dye). Then I remembered my old stylist (from back home in Missouri) telling me about neutralizing shampoos. They’re basically a violet shampoo that will gradually remove the golden-orangeish color from your hair. I wanted the one made by Rusk… but I couldn’t find it anywhere so I settled for this one made by John Frieda. It’s actually AMAZING. Not only does it help with the brassiness, but it also enhanced the blonde in my roots to help make my highlights blend better. I just went to a stylist and paid $200 for highlights (she’s an “expert” with sky-high prices) and I’m not kidding… I left with TWO inches of roots showing; a blunt line of platinum blonde against dark blonde. NEVER AGAIN. I just really don’t trust anyone with my hair. It’s so frustrating! But yeah, this shampoo and conditioner has really helped me. I would definitely recommend it if you’re looking for something to help tone down the brassiness! You can find them at basically any store. I think I got mine at Rite Aid :)